Foundations

Inviting Users & User Privileges

Invite your team to your workspace to collaborate with your maps. They will also able to add folders and create new projects themselves. Changes that one person makes are experienced by everyone.

Keep note that sharing Workspace, Folders and Projects is very important for privacy and security, walk through these steps thoroughly to understand how to share data and restrict privileges among new users.

Globe Icon = Entire Workspace
Folder Icon = Everything within that Folder
Pencil Icon = That specific Project

Sharing Workspaces, Folders and Project

Sharing a Workspace

  1. From within your Home Page (Home Icon) or Workspace (Folder Icon) on the Left side on your screen. You’re able to share the entire workspace in the top right corner using the “Invite” or “Share” button.

  2. Within the drop down You will notice the Globe Icon (Sharing the Entire Workspace), Add individual emails or import a CSV with all the emails from your department. Select the “Done” then “Send Invite” button to share the workspace.

  3. You can also copy the link in the bottom left and share it via Email.

Remove Users from a Workspace

  1. From you Home Page select the Setting (Gear Icon) in the bottom left corner of your screen, Beneath the Workspace tab Select on “Users”. Beneath the “Workspace Access” Column, hover your cursor over the users you want to change the privileges of and select the “Pencil Icon”

  2. Select the Drop down to remove or adjust the users privileges and select “Confirm Access”

Sharing a Folders

  1. From within your Workspace (Folder Icon) on the Left side on your screen. Select a Folder and click the “Share” button in the top right corner of your screen. This can also be done by hovering your cursor over the folder, Selecting the ellipses then choosing “Share”.

  2. Within the drop down You will notice the Folder Icon (Sharing the Folder), Add individual emails or import a CSV with all the emails from your department. Select the “Done” Button then “Send Invite” button to share the Folder.

  3. You can also copy the link in the bottom left and share it via Email.

Sharing a Project

  1. From within your Workspace (Folder Icon) on the Left side on your screen. Select a project and click the “Invite” button in the top right corner of your screen. This can also be done by hovering your cursor over the project and selecting the ellipses then choosing “Share”.

  2. Within the drop down You will notice the Pencil Icon (Sharing a project), Add individual emails or import a CSV with all the emails from your department. Select the “Done” Button “Send Invite” button to share the project.

  3. You can also copy the link in the bottom left and share it via Email.

Adjusting User Privileges

  1. After the “Invite” or “Share” Button is selected the Share Project Tab appears. To the right of the project invite is the “User Privileges” drop down. Select it to adjust the users privileges between “Viewer” or “Editor”.

  • This can also be done in setting, scroll up to “Remove Users From a Workspace” for a walk through.

Roles

In Nova, there are three permission levels: Admin, Editor, and Viewer. These are referred to as roles, and each role defines a collaborator’s capabilities within a resource based on their access level.

Admin

The Admin role is for collaborators you have full trust with. Admins are specifically given access to the entire workspace, and they may view, edit and delete any resource they wish (including the workspace).

At least one admin must be assigned to a given workspace at a single time. This ensures that there is always someone who can manage licenses in the workspace.

Editor

Editors can edit and manage the folders and projects within a workspace, as an admin could. They are able to edit the contents of projects. The main difference is that editors can’t manage add-ons or rename and delete the workspace.

Viewer

Viewers are designed to provide the least amount of risk for a resource; they can see what is assigned, but cannot manage the project/folders, and cannot edit any contents within the project. If a viewer wants to make a modification, they can request access to have elevated editor privileges in that project or folder. They then must be approved by any admin of the workspace.

You can tell if you have view only access in the project if there is a view only badge next to the file name in the header as shown below.

As a viewer, you will still have the ability to create PDF maps and utilize any previously saved template.

Menu

Menu